SLMHA AWARDS

The Sterling Jermyn Award:

The Award is to be presented to an individual in recognition for having provided Outstanding Service to Sturgeon Lake Minor Hockey (this individual does not have to be an active member of the association).

The Lifetime Award:

The Award is to be awarded at the discretion of the President, if s/he feels that any person is justified. This Award is to be presented to any SLMHA Executive, Coach, Manager, Trainer or other volunteer that has provided 5 or more years of service, wherein it is felt they have gone above and beyond the norm.

The Dar Kimble OMHA Coaching Award:

This is to be awarded on the following criteria:

- Love of the game of hockey;
- Enjoys working with players of all skill levels to help develop them to their full potential;
- Promotes fair play;
- Promotes sportsmanship;
- Promotes team comradery;
- Promotes players that the Association and area can be proud of;
- Follows the rules and regulations of the game, OMHA and SLMHA

This criterion is given to each team and each team will advise the award committee, in writing, why they nominate their coach.

These nomination submissions will be read by the executive. The executive will then make the final decision based on the submitted nominations.

The George Traill Three County Coaching Award:

The Award is to be awarded on the following criteria:

- Love of the game of hockey;
- Enjoys working with players of all skill levels to help develop them to their full potential;
- Promotes fair play;
- Promotes sportsmanship;
- Promotes team comradery;
- Players that the Association and Area can be proud of:
- Follows the rules and regulations of the game, TCHL and SLMHA.

This criterion is given to each team and each team will advise the award committee, in writing, why they nominate their coach. These nomination submissions will be read by the executive. The executive will then make the final decision based on the submitted nominations.

Manager of The Year Award:

This award is presented to a SLMHA Team Manager who has shown dedication to their team through countless hours of volunteer work. This person has displayed exceptional organizational and planning skills. This person has a positive impact on their respective team, has shown effective communication and promotes genuine respect for players, coaches, officials, opponents and parents. This person represents a positive public image for Sturgeon Lake Minor Hockey.

The Executive will review nominations with supporting information and vote on a winner. If no unanimous winner is determined, randomly select a recipient. If no nominations are received, the executive should select a deserving manager.

The Olympic Spirit Award:

The Award recognizes a player annual who best combines good sportsmanship with perseverance and team spirit. This award is intended to sustain the fantastic spirit and pride generated by the Vancouver Olympic games.

- The Executive invites every coach to nominate a player from their roster.
- Executive should remind the coaches to the criteria for which the award is given and emphasize
 that age and hockey ability are not relative. Some coaches may opt out of the nomination
 process.
- Coaches provide executive the name and letter of support for their nomination.

The Executive will review nominations with supporting information and vote on a winner. If no unanimous winner is determined, randomly select a recipient. If no coach's nominations are received, the executive should select a deserving player.

The Paul Thompson Memorial Award (In Memory of Paul "Bunyan" Thompson):

A person larger than life itself. A person striving for the highest levels in anything he did. Always wanting to help and please his fellow human race. With these traits set out, we would hope the recipient would take them and be a stronger and better person as our friend "Bunyan" was. Criteria for this award:

- Goaltender
- Love the game
- Hard worker striving to always improve
- Good teammate to everyone, everywhere
- Friendly polite
- No blame game every goal was personal
- Always prepared a true competitor
- Played hard had fun both on and off the ice

The Art Jackson Award:

The Award is to be awarded typically (not necessarily) to a third year Midget player who best exemplifies the type of player/person that the Association would be proud to be represented by. The SLMHA Executive decides upon the recipient after review of submissions.

The Aubrey Nicholson Award:

The Award will be presented to the Most Valuable Defenseman on either the Juvenile (if applicable) or Midget Team.

The Bill Speer Award:

The Award will be presented to the Most Valuable Defenseman on the Bantam OMHA team as chosen by the coach.

The Howard Hall Award:

The Award will be presented to the Most Improved Player on the Bantam TC team as chosen by the coach.